Amit Sahai, Mario Gerla and Adnan Darwiche.

Three computer science professors in the UCLA Samueli School of Engineering — Adnan Darwiche, Mario Gerla and Amit Sahai — have been elected as fellows of the Association for Computing Machinery, the world’s largest educational and scientific computing society. The honor, reserved for one percent of the organization’s membership, recognizes researchers, developers and practitioners who have made significant advances in computing fields. The award citations for the three faculty members are below.

Adnan Darwiche, professor and chair of the computer science department, was elected “for contributions to the foundations and technology of automated reasoning.”

Mario Gerla, the Jonathan B. Postel Professor of Networking, was elected “for contributions to design and analysis of mobile wireless protocols for vehicular safety and traffic applications.”

Amit Sahai, professor and director of the Center for Encrypted Functionalities, was elected “for contributions to cryptography and to the development of indistinguishability obfuscation.”

The 2018 class of 56 fellows was announced by ACM on Dec. 5. New fellows will be formally recognized at the organization’s next annual meeting, to be held in June in San Francisco.

 UCLA Samueli Materials Science and Engineering