Our congratulations to Algirdas Avizienis, Emeritus Distinguished Professor of Computer Science. Algirdas has received the prestigious 2018 Jean-Claude Laprie Award in Dependable Computing for his 1977 paper: On the Implementation of N-Version Programming for Software Fault Tolerance During Execution, A. Avizienis and L. Chen, Proceedings COMPSAC, 149-155.

The Laprie award is given annually by the IFIP Working Group 10.4 on Dependable Computing and Fault Tolerance. It is dedicated to recognizing outstanding papers that have significantly influenced the theory and/or practice of dependable computing.

This is Algirdas’s third Laprie award. His first award was for the 1967 paper, Design of Fault-Tolerant Computersand the second was for the 2004 paper, Basic Concepts and Taxonomy of Dependable and Secure Computing.