Emeritus Distinguished Professor Algirdas Avizienis has been awarded the 2016 Jean-Claude Laurie Award in Dependable Computing for his 2004 paper:

Basic concepts and taxonomy of dependable and secure computing,” by A. Avizienis, J.C. Laprie, B. Randell and C. Landwehr, IEEE Trans. on Dependable and Secure Computing. Vol.1. No.1, pp.1 – 23, (2004).

This award has been given annually since 2012 by the IFIP Working Group 10.4 on Dependable Computing and Fault Tolerance. The award recognizes outstanding papers that have significantly influenced the theory and/or practice of dependable computing.

This is Algirdas’s second Jean-Claude Laurie Award; in 2012 he won this award for his 1967 paper, “Design of fault-tolerant computers.”