Select Page

Student Awards And News 2008 2011

CS Department students Jong Hoon Ahnn, Uichin Lee and Hyun Jin Moon have received the CCGrid 2011 Best Paper Award for “GeoServ: A Distributed Urban Sensing Platform.” When making this award, the selection committee considered innovation, potential impact, and overall presentation. Ahnn, Lee and Moon are working together on the GeoServ project as part of Professor Mario Gerla’s CS218 class.

2011 Student Awards:

Vladimir Braverman: Google Outstanding Graduate Student Research Award (advisor Rafail Ostrovsky)

Dan He: Northrup-Grumman Outstanding Graduate Student Research Award (advisor Eleazar Eskin)

Navid Amini: Symantec Outstanding Graduate Student Research Award (advisor Majid Sarrafzadeh)

Bin Liu: Cisco Outstanding Graduate Student Research Award (advisor Jason Cong)

Manu Jose: Outstanding Masters Graduate (advisor Rupak Majumdar)

Vladimir Braverman: Outstanding Ph.D. Graduate (advisor Rafail Ostrovksy)

UCLA’s CSD research team members Guojie Luo, Bingjun Xiao and Professor Jason Cong, and Purdue’s Kalliopi Tsota have won second place in the routability-driven placement contest held during the 2011 International Symposium on Physical Design (ISPD). Their second-place win was for the development of the placement algorithm “mPL11.”

First-year Ph.D. student Beayna Grigorian (advisor Glenn Reinman) has been selected to receive a 2011 NSF Graduate Research Fellowship Program (GRFP) Fellowship. The selection was based on Beayna’s outstanding abilities and accomplishments, as well as her potential to contribute to strengthening the vitality of the US science and engineering enterprise.

Graduate studen Donnie Kim (advisor, Deborah Estrin) is one of 27 students selected by Intel to receive its Ph.D. Fellowship Award for 2010. This prestigious award recognizes Fellowship recipients as being tops in their areas of research.

Intel participates in a wide array of education-related programs whose goals are to improve the quality of education and train students to be future technology leaders. Intel’s Ph.D. Fellowship program focuses on research in Intel’s technical areas: hardware systems technology and design, software technology and design and semiconductor technology and manufacturing.
You can read more about this here.

Ph.D. students Bin Liu and Yi Zou (advisor Jason Cong) were the first-place winners at ICCAD’s CADathlon held on November 9, 2010. Two teams from the University of Michigan and UC Berkeley shared second-place.

The CADathlon challenges students in their knowledge of CAD, and their problem-solving, programming and teamwork skills. It also serves as an innovative way to promote the development of top students in the EDA field.

Outstanding Graduate Student Awards for 2010

Google Award:  Knot Pipatsrisawat (advisor Adnan Darwiche)

Northrup-Grumman Award:  Nils Homer (advisors Eleazar Eskin and Stan Nelson)

Symantec Award:  Alireza Vahdatpour (advisor Majid Sarrafzadeh)

Cisco Award: Hyduke Noshadi (advisor Majid Sarrafzadeh)

Department Award—Outstanding Masters Graduate: Trevor Standley (advisor Rich Korf)

Department Award—Outstanding Ph.D. Graduate: Knot Pipatsrisawat (advisor Adnan Darwiche)

Qualcomm Innovation Fellowships for 2010 have been awarded to CSD Ph.D. students Taehee Lee and Teresa Ko (advisors Stefano Soatto and Deborah Estrin). Qualcomm fellowship awards of $50K per student were made to six two-person teams. Lee and Ko received fellowships based on the presentation of their proposal “Object-Level Mapping, Localization and Change Detection on Mobile Platforms.”

In November 2009, graduate students Kirill (Cory) Minkovich and Alex Shkapsky were jointly awarded the Northrup-Grumman Outstanding Graduate Student Service Award for their selfless contributions to the Computer Science Department, which included their work with the Graduate Student Committee and the graduate student mentoring program.

2009 Outstanding Ph.D and Master’s Awards
Sung Hee Lee: Outstanding Ph.D. student (advisor Demetri Terzopoulos)
Albert Liu: Outstanding master’s student (advisor Jason Cong)

2009 Outstanding Graduate Student Research Awards from Industry
Vipul Goyal (advisor Rafail Ostrovsky): Google
Sung Hee Lee (advisor Demetri Terzopoulos): Northrop Grumman
Dan Marino (advisor Todd Millstein): Semantec
Ricardo Oliveira (advisor Lixia Zhang): Cisco

Graduate student, Ka Cheung (Richard) Sia (advisor Professor John Cho), is the winner of the first-place graduate student award in this year’s UCSD data mining competition (held March 25th to June 15th). This competition offers individuals a chance to test their data mining skills on a real-world data set. The competition, held annually, is open to all students, post-docs, and “interested parties.” This year, over 100 teams participated in the competition.

Foad Dabiri (advisor Majid Sarrafzadeh) has been selected to receive the 2008 Edward K. Rice Outstanding Doctoral Student Award. This award honors the achievements of a distinguished doctoral student in the UCLA Henry Samueli School of Engineering and Applied Science. Recipients are selected on the basis of their academic excellence, research contributions and service to the school, university or community.

Rafael Laufer CS Department PhD student (advisor Leonard Kleinrock), is one of four students nationwide to receive the Marconi Society’s 2008 Young Scholars Award. Rafael was selected for his outstanding research on Internet security. Recipients of the Young Scholars Award receive financial stipends and are invited to attend the annual Marconi award dinner held this year at the Royal Society in London.

In recognition of his achievements, 3rd-year graduate student Vipul Goyal has been awarded the highly prestigious Microsoft Graduate Fellowship. In addition to the financial support offered by the fellowship, Vipul will have the opportunity to participate in a 12-week paid research internship for each of the next two years. The fellowship award ceremony will be held at Microsoft Research on March 3, 2008.