USC Viterbi School of Engineering, Ming Hsieh Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering has invited Distinguished CS Professor Leonard Kleinrock to give a keynote lecture on Wednesday, April 3rd. His talk, entitled ” On Some of My Simple Results”, touches on the problems that he has addressed in his nearly 60 year long career and the resulting insights.

The talk is part of the Viterbi Lecture series and is open to all. More information can be found here.


More about Professor Leonard Kleinrock

Professor Leonard Kleinrock is Distinguished Professor of Computer Science at UCLA. He is considered a father of the Internet, having developed the mathematical theory of packet networks, the technology underpinning the Internet as an MIT graduate student in 1962. His UCLA Host computer became the first node of the Arpanet, predecessor of the Internet, in 1969 and it was from his lab that he directed the transmission of the first Internet message in October, 1969. Kleinrock received the 2007 National Medal of Science, the highest honor for achievement in science bestowed by the President of the United States.

Leonard Kleinrock received his Ph.D. from MIT in 1963. He has served as Professor of Computer Science at UCLA since then, and was department Chairman from 1991-1995. He received a BEE degree from CCNY in 1957 (Evening Session) and an MS degree from MIT in 1959. He has received eight honorary degrees, has published over 250 papers, authored six books, and has supervised the research for 50 Ph.D. students.

Professor Kleinrock is a member of the National Academy of Engineering, the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, is an IEEE fellow, an ACM fellow, an INFORMS fellow, an IEC fellow, an inaugural member of the Internet Hall of Fame, a Guggenheim fellow, and an Eminent member of Eta Kappa Nu. Among his many honors, he is the recipient of the National Medal of Science, the Ericsson Prize, the NAE Draper Prize, the Marconi Prize, the Dan David Prize, the Okawa Prize, the BBVA Frontiers of Knowledge Award, the ORSA Lanchester Prize, the ACM SIGCOMM Award, the IEEE Leonard G. Abraham Prize Paper Award, the IEEE Harry M. Goode Award and the IEEE Alexander Graham Bell Medal.


 UCLA Samueli Materials Science and Engineering