Select Page

Awards from Government / Industry / University


UCLA Distinguished Teaching Award—Joe DiStefano
Harvey Eby Award for the Art of Teaching—Joe DiStefano


Northrop Grumman Award for Teaching—Glenn Reinman
Lockheed Martin Award for Teaching—Joe DiStefano


Lockheed Martin Excellence in Teaching Award—Richard Korf
“Professor of the Year” from the Engineering Society of UC—David Smallberg
Honorary Laurea Doctorate in Ingegneria Telematica, Turin Polytechnic—Leonard Kleinrock
DARPA special commendation for outstanding achievement—Rajive Bagrodia
Election to the Internet Architecture Board—Lixia Zhang
Honorary Laureate Degree, University of Bologna—Leonard Kleinrock
IBM Faculty Award—John Cho


New Faculty Fellowship Award—Eddie Kohler
NSF CAREER Awards—Eddie Kohler, Rupak Majumdar, Todd Millstein
Honorary Doctorate, Georgia Tech—Alan Kay
New Faculty Fellowship Award, Micrrosoft Research—Eddie Kohler
Northrop Grumman Excellence in Teaching Award—John Cho
Inventor Recognition Award, Semiconductor Corp—Jason Cong
IBM Faculty Award—Jason Cong
Young Innovator Award, MIT Technology Review—Eddie Kohler
IBM Faculty Award—Rafail Ostrovsky
IBM Faculty Award—Jens Palsberg
Purpose Prize, Civic Ventures—Judea Pearl


IBM Faculty Award—Jason Cong
Honoris Causa Degree in Informatics, University of Pisa—Alan Kay
Sloan Research Fellowship—Eddie Kohler
Presidential Early Career Award for Scientists & Engineers—Eddie Kohler
Honorary Doctor of Science, University of Toronto—Judea Pearl


Doctorate Honoris Causa, Swiss Federal Institute of Technology—Deborah Estrin
Honorary Doctorate, Mathematics, Univ. of Waterloo, Canada—Alan Kay
IBM Faculty Award—Todd Millstein
Honorary Doctor of Humane Letters, Chapman University—Judea Pearl
Lockheed Martin Excellence in Teaching Award—David Smallberg


Lockheed Martin Excellence in Teaching Award—Milos Ercegovac
Sloan Research Fellowship—Eleazar Eskin
Northrop Grumman Prize for Best Publication Record—Mario Gerla
Honorary Doctorate, Informatics/Computer Science—Kyoto University—Alan Kay
Guggenheim Fellowship—Demetri Terzopoulos
NSF Career Award—Zhuowen Tu


Google Focused Research Award—Deborah Estrin
Honorary Doctorate, University of Murcia, Spain—Alan Kay
Honorary Doctorate of Science, Technion-Israel Institute of Technology—Leonard Kleinrock
Sloan Research Fellowship—Rupak Majumdar
Technology Innovation Award, Wall Street Journal—Carey Nachenberg
Rethinking Encryption Award, Google—Amit Sahai
NSF CAREER Award—Jennifer Wortman Vaughan
Symposium on Principles of Distributed Computing Honor—Eli Gafni


Keck Futures Initiative Award, National Academies—Demetri Terzopoulos
Symantec Term Chair in Computer Science—Jennifer Wortman Vaughan
NSF CAREER Award—Miryung Kim


Jean-Claude Laprie Award in Dependable Computing—Algirdas Avizienis
IBM Faculty Award—Jason Cong
Lockheed Martin Excellence in Teaching Award—Paul Eggert
Honorary Doctorate, Computer Science, DePaul University—Alan Kay
Pazy Memorial Research Award—Rafail Ostrovsky, Amit Sahai
NSF CAREER Award—Alexander Sherstov
Presidential Early Career Award—Jennifer Wortman Vaughan


Prolific Author Award, DAC—Jason Cong
Distinguished Alumni Educator Award, UIUC—Milos Ercegovac
Sloan Research Fellowship—Jason Ernst
NSF CAREER Award—Jason Ernst
Honorary Doctorate, Concordia University, Canada—Leonard Kleinrock
Distinguished Alumni Award, NY University Polytecnic—Judea Pearl
Helmholtz Test-of-Time Awards, IEEE—Demetri Terzopoulos & Song-Chun Zhu & Alan Yuille
Distinguished Visiting Professor of Computer Science, Technion Israel Inst. of Technology


NSF CAREER Award—Tyson Condie
Honorary Doctorate, Texas A&M University—Judea Pearl
Alfred P. Sloan Research Fellowship—Alexander Sherstov
Northrop Grumman Excellence in Teaching—Alexander Sherstov


NSF CAREER Award—Raghu Mekka


Faculty in Residence – Faculty of the Year Award—Miryung Kim
10-Year Retrospective Most Influential Paper Award, DAC—Jason Cong
Best Long Paper Award, EMNLP—Kai-Wei Chang
MEMSYS 2017 Best Paper Award—Jason Cong
MEMSYS 2017 Best Paper Award—Glenn Reinman


Lockheed Martin Excellence in Teaching Award—Adnan Darwiche
Excellence in the Field of Mathematics Award—Rafail Ostrovsky
NSF CAREER Award—Tony Nowatzki
Honorary Doctorate from Yale University—Judea Pearl
ISLPED 2018 Best Paper Award—Jason Cong
Intel/NSF FOMR Award—Tony Nowatzki
Vehicle Communication Magazine – Best Paper Award—Mario Gerla


FPGA Best Paper Award—Jason Cong
Amazon Research Award—Yizhou Sun
Google Faculty Research Award—Jason Cong
J.P. Morgan AI Research Award—Adnan Darwiche
J.P. Morgan AI Research Award—Rafail Ostrovsky
Donald O. Pederson Best Paper Award—Jason Cong
Facebook Research Award on Computationally Efficient NLP—Kai-Wei Chang
Facebook Research Award on Computationally Efficient NLP—Cho-Jui Hsieh
AWS Machine Learning Research Award (MLRA)—Amit Sahai
SIA University Researcher Award—Jason Cong
ACM SoCC Best Paper Award—Ravi Netravali